Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Free Will | Savor Life, Day 10

“And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” – John 8: 32

Free Will Day 10 Savor Life retreatAsk yourself, “Am I more likely to act willingly or willfully?” The subtle distinction between these actions is important to consider.

As a young girl I was taught that the greatest gift God gave me was my free will. I had choices, and could learn what constituted poor, good, and better decisions, in spite of my conflicting desires.

We live with choices. Daily, minute by minute. Today at the grocery store I chose the red Jazz apples over the green Granny Smiths. I decided to wear my sky blue down coat, and a knit hat. I created time to call a friend, play with my dog. I asked myself, is there a yes in this moment that matters most to my values and priorities? When practiced for decades, even little actions become conscious and enhance life. Our “no” response is also life-giving when priorities, commitments and values take precedence. Not everything is necessary, even if it is very good. Daily we live with both small and significant choices. We exercise free will.

Free will is not always valued or supported. Two types of power structures exist in relationships, organizations, institutions, and systems: power together and with each other, and power over and separate from one another. Power together and with cultivates and magnifies free will as a source of freedom, delight, and contribution. Power over and separate is a form of bullying, does not cultivate free-will, is one-sided, and requires conformity.

To savor life and our free will we must seek truth and trust our ability to make good choices. A myriad of cultural and institutional voices, past experiences, and fear can shut us down from fully expressing our opinions, ideas, and acting with free will. This is especially true for women.

Savor
Be mindful of the choices you make. Be deliberate and intentional. Choose wisely. Trust your instincts. Be willing to explore your thoughts, feelings, and the sensations you experience. Seek a good guide to companion you when making significant decisions. Ask yourself, Am I willing or willful? What is my motivation? Invite God to gently aid and illuminate your understanding.

Today I will savor in my heart ... the desire to act freely, without compulsion or manipulation.

“When Jesus went into the region of Caesarea Philippi
he asked his disciples,
“Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”
They replied, “Some say John the Baptist, others Elijah,
still others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.”
He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” – Matthew 16:13-15


Tip
: Each daily reflection for this every day life retreat is a post in the “Home” tab above. If you want to see all posts, please select the category, “Savor Lent, Savor Life 2013″ from the list to your right.
If you would like to receive the daily posts in your email inbox, you can subscribe by clicking “Follow New Fields” blog, also to the right. Thanks, and do let me know what would be meaningful and helpful to you! Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Free Will | Savor Life, Day 10

  1. Pingback: Savor | Day 11 | New Fields

  2. Pingback: Savor Lent, Savor Life, 2013 online daily pause | New Fields

  3. Pingback: Savor Lent, Savor Life, 2013 daily life retreat | New Fields

Leave a Reply

