Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Become Available | Savor Life, Day 13

“Jesus stopped and called them and said, “What do you want me to do for you?” They answered him, “Lord, let our eyes be opened.” – Matthew 20: 32-33

Our conversations and communication with each other are often functional, relaying data and details: I’ll meet you at …., When is …?, I need …., How about …?, Where is …?, and so forth. Our conversation with God can be similar. How we communicate with the people around us may mirror our God conversations.

Day 13 Become AvailableA recent text, How was your day? queried me, posed a reflective question, evoked my response, and began a mutual conversation and exchange that held potential to grow connection, intimacy and friendship. When we communicate and interact with each other, God, or in meditation or spiritual practice, a flow of energy and presence brings forth expansion or contraction.

I had a choice in my response to that text message—I could share about the productivity or pleasures of the day, or my concerns and fatigue, or a dozen other details. My desire was to be utterly available to my best self, and to the person asking the question. The same is true in my relationship with the Sacred some name God.

To become available means to be able to avail ourselves on behalf of someone, or something from a deep soul level. It is a choice that involves intention, willpower, and decision. Sometimes to be available involves risk and takes courage. Being available generates connection and ultimately involves both giving and receiving.

When we pause, on behalf of our own soul stirrings, on behalf of another person, for the whisper of God’s Spirit, or when stirred by empathy, compassion, or injustice, we evoke inner spaciousness. To be available allows possibility for healing, wholeness, connection, and blessing. I imagine a world where every day we make the time to pause and ask, How was your day? or How are you? to ourselves, to someone dear to us, or to a complete stranger. And then risk showing up, with authenticity.

Today I will savor in my heart ... God tenderly asks, “How are you?” And desires a response.

“Jesus said to his disciples:
“Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.
“Stop judging and you will not be judged.
Stop condemning and you will not be condemned.
Forgive and you will be forgiven.
Give and gifts will be given to you;
a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing,
will be poured into your lap.
For the measure with which you measure
will in return be measured out to you.” – Luke 6:36-38


Daily Prayer

I am here, God,
Come, take me
Bless me with your majestic grace
Break me of my ego and deadly capacity to sin
Give me as a gift to your broken and brilliant world
Show me how to willingly receive
Accompany me when I respond
And guide
me to savor life.

Leave a Reply

