Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Dream | Savor Life, Day 17

When I was a teen in the 1970s, my secret dream was to be a holistic healer. I knew about meditation, plants, healthy living with juices, fruits and vegetables, service to others, connection with the earth, and especially the rhythm of the salty ocean and damp sand. I studied foot reflexology and the human energy field from a book a high school teacher loaned me (I still have it). At the time I didn’t realize how much I already knew about the individual and communal need for healing in our interwoven nature of body, mind, spirit. I simply knew something very deep in my core became full of energy and expansion whenever I thought about holistic healing. Except, I heard voices that I internalized without ever checking out the truth: I wasn’t smart enough. I would need science classes and lots of studying. My idea was stupid. No one would understand. I was a fool.
The clock ticked, I made poor choices, and the poetic dream and pulse in me to be a healer slowly withered and died.

Day 16 DreamsMore than thirty years have passed since those young, genuine dreams grew in me. I savor the possibility that it is time to revisit how my early dreams morphed, and speak in me today, anew. Perhaps those early seeds are calling forth unknown partnership and action for the future. Maybe you too understand this type of reflection. At times like these, it is important to pay attention.

I pose a gentle inquiry:

  • What were your childhood dreams?
  • Do you have secret dreams today, in current time?
  • What are the inclinations or inspirations that arrive unexpectedly or in your nighttime dreams?
  • Did circumstances, external voices, or your own fear and doubts stifle your dreams?
  • How have your dreams and the ways you desire to express yourself in the world shifted through life experiences and time?
  • What one thing would you revisit or implement-dare-if nothing hindered possibility?
  • Is there someone who championed your ideas and visions for your life? Are you the champion for someone?

Please make time to reflect and ponder. Write, draw or express yourself. Talk to a friend. Pay attention.

Today I will savor in my heart ... Dreams arrive to guide us to wholeness, connection, and creation of our art or gift on behalf of our families, the world, and our own delight. Be brave, believe.

“So Joseph went after his brothers and caught up with them in Dothan.
They noticed him from a distance,
and before he came up to them, they plotted to kill him.
They said to one another: “Here comes that master dreamer!
Come on, let us kill him and throw him into one of the cisterns here;
we could say that a wild beast devoured him.
We shall then see what comes of his dreams.” – Genesis 37:17b-20 reading, Friday of the Second Week in Lent

Leave a Reply

