Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Acceptance | Savor Life, Day 25

Acceptance Kenai Beach day 25

Poet Mary Oliver is brilliant. I really want to share one of her poems for this blog post. The poem title is I Want, published in Evidence: Poems by Mary Oliver (2009). However, her publisher requests that her poems not be reprinted without permission. I honor this, and have sent a request to publish the poem here.

Meanwhile, the blog today is intended to invite you to sit with what is, in the isness of your life. The messiness, the muck, the beauty. We have glimpses of belonging, love. And moments of grief, despair, frustration. All is life. Acceptance teaches us yes, desire the best of ourselves and others, and be gentle with reality.

Please savor the past seven days. Be still for several minutes,  notice your breathing pattern and sensations in your body.

Leisurely allow your thoughts to travel the current from this past week. If you’ve been following daily posts, these prompts may be guide you:

  • Today I will savor in my heart … acceptance is a brave expression of compassion.
  • Today I will savor in my heart … how I do anything may be how I do everything.
  • Today I will savor in my heart … My life is here, and now.
  • Today I will savor in my heart … When I let go, I am simultaneously holding onto myself, and giving permission for life to flow.
  • Today I will savor in my heart … I am willing to tell the truth.
  • Today I will savor in my heart … sacred space
  • Today I will savor in my heart … I am more resilient than I think I am. I have hidden support to guide me.

Is there a feeling, sensation, or thought from your week  that is prominent? Observe what is.

Offer thanksgiving for your life, or a plea for what you desire, or pour out your cares and concerns. Trust in hidden support.

Savor Meditation
Breathe until you feel your chest and belly expand. Let go. Do it again.

Again

Again

Shrug your shoulders several times

Vigorously shake your arms, wrists, hips, legs, ankles…

Be still, focus on your breath, inhale through your nose, exhale through lips

Be present to your surroundings until you feel your body ease into calm, rhythmic breathing.

Today I will savor in my heart … acceptance is a brave expression of compassion.

Leave a Reply

