Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Week Four: Give | Savor Lent, Savor Life, 2013 Daily Life Retreat

Surprise Flowers Justin at cabin June 2001When I met my son in 1998 he was eight. I anticipated the life I would give to him: a forever family, safe home, opportunity, love. I didn’t yet understand that I needed him as much as he needed me. We gave life to each other. In the giving we receive.

This fourth week theme of the Savor Life daily life retreat is Give, and revolves with themes of discernment, generosity, discipline, sacrifice, forgiveness, and boundaries.

Reflect
I invite you to recall a person or a time when you perceived you were giving something, and instead, received a gift–a gift in the sense of belonging, trust, joy, connection, something that touched your heart–which was exactly what your heart and soul needed. You may not have known how much you needed the exchange that took place.

Recall the memory.

Savor your experience.

Give silent thanks in your own words to the person, and for the Spirit of graciousness between the two of you.

Today I will savor in my heart ... it is in giving that we receive.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only son, so that everyone who believes in him might have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him.” – John 3:16-17 (Cycle B)

Daily Prayer

I am here, God,
Come, take me
Bless me with your majestic grace
Break me of my ego and deadly capacity to sin
Give me as a gift to your broken and brilliant world
Show me how to willingly receive
Accompany me when I respond
And guide
me to savor life.

Amen.

Tip: Each daily reflection for this every day life retreat is a post in the “Home” tab above. If you want to see all posts, please select the category, “Savor Lent, Savor Life 2013″ from the list to your right.
If you would like to receive the daily posts in your email inbox, you can subscribe by clicking “Follow New Fields” blog, also to the right. Thanks, and do let me know what would be meaningful and helpful to you! Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

