Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Sacrifice | Savor Life, Day 30

Sacrifice Day 30

Today I will savor in my heart … a sacrifice is a courageous act of love

Four days ago I spent time with a group of  parent and child pairs who worked to create a project at the beginning of a week together. It is spring break. I noticed the tenderness and focus in each pair, of listening and speaking, helpful hands, gazes, long gazes, between a child and parent spending deliberate intentional time together. Tonight, with this same group, I was deeply moved hearing adults and children tell stories about how valuable several days of being unplugged with a loved one is. One adult shared that with a goodbye, the child does not know if they will see their parent again. The parent expressed the same tender angst, also adding, this is my duty.

People close to us, and strangers, make sacrifices that we might be very aware of, or have no idea about, yet still impact our lives. We make sacrifices because of a calling, honor, a belief, commitments, love.

Most authentic relationships require a dance of give and take, mutuality, share. When we give of ourselves, sacrifice may be a portion in the equation. There are times when we must learn to receive, and other times when we generously pour forth our time and resources for loved ones, strangers, or a purpose with determination. Many professions require sacrifice.

  • For who and what are you willing to sacrifice your time and resources?
  • Who makes—or has made—sacrifices on your behalf?

Reflect
Take paper and pen, then write down names of people and stories of sacrifice that personally touch you now or have in your past.
Sit quietly with your paper in your hands, and read the names and stories out loud. Give permission for these memories and thoughts to invite you into deeper reflection of how you can give, receive, or make sacrifices of your own.

Savor
When you go to sleep tonight, give thanks for your bed, the privileges of life you experience, your freedom—however expansive or limited it is–and the memories made and stirred in you this day.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his only son, so that everyone who believes in him might have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him.” – John 3:16-17

Daily Prayer

I am here, God,
Come, take me
Bless me with your majestic grace
Break me of my ego and deadly capacity to sin
Give me as a gift to your broken and brilliant world
Show me how to willingly receive
Accompany me when I respond
And guide
me to savor life.

Amen.

Day 30 photo: Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve, San Luis Valley, Colorado

Leave a Reply

