Savor Lent Savor Life 2013

Acceptance | Savor Life, Day 35

Acceptance Day 35I told him, with a singsong voice, “Guess who loves you … I do!”

A few minutes later, while joking with his mom, dad, and older brothers, I turned back to watch him. Two years old, he was playing with a toy and whispering to himself: “I do loves me. I do loves me…” He looked up, our eyes met, and he grinned.

On the drive home, along Cook Inlet, the memory of his tender voice mirroring my words played in me, “I do loves me.” Such a simple phrase–and he accepted it so easily, understanding the resonance and care my words expressed.

The statement, I do, conveys commitment, a yes.

Reflect

  • Is self-love and care easy or difficult for you?
  • Are you overly critical or judgmental of yourself?
  • Who whispers to you, “Guess who loves you … I do!”
  • Is there someone who you whisper, “Guess who loves you … I do!” to?
  • How we relate to God’s love for us (and yes, I believe a sacred spirit of God whispers in my heart, “Guess who loves you…”) often is reflective of our capacity to genuinely love ourselves and others.
  • Do you believe it makes a difference for children, and people of any age, to hear unconditionally, “Guess who loves you … I do!”

“Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God; everyone who loves is begotten by God and knows God.” – 1 John 4: 7

Today I will savor in my heart … I do loves me.

Leave a Reply

