Wilderness and Nature

Savoring Molokai blessings and friendship

Ten months ago, without hesitation, I replied yes to an emailed personal invitation to travel to Molokai in early June 2013, on a retreat. My time was ravishingly deep, restorative, healing, and transformative. Insights, which flow in me like waves, weave in and out of my creativity, my waking moments and sleeping dreams connecting the Hui Ho’olana and the seventeen of us who gathered in a circle.

Tonight, on this Super Moon of Summer Solstice, at home in Alaska, I tenderly encounter the words of Hafiz, a poet whose writings arrive at opportune times to speak to my soul. My cabin at the Hui nested in trees, and the island magic almost imperceptibly healed, a rippling that continues. Mahalo…

Blessings to you this night.

“This is the kind of Friend You are –
Without making me realize
My soul’s anguished history,
You slip into my house at night,
And while I am sleeping,
You silently carry off
All my suffering and sordid past
In Your beautiful
Hands.”

– حافظ (Hafiz)

molokai cabin

Leave a Reply

